Removed Directories

This is a list of removed directories. In order for our index of directories to be useful to our readers, it is vitally important to us that all listed directories be available. Our index is scanned periodically for bad links. Any links identified as bad are confirmed. In cases where it is uncertain whether or not the unavailability of the listing is temporary or permanent, listings are retained in the index. If, on a subsequent check, they are again flagged as bad, they are removed from the index. However, directories removed from our public index will remain in our database for a period of months. Removed directories will be reinstated if the noted problems have been corrected to our satisfaction. If you own or operate one of these directories, and would like to have it reinstated, please let me know.

The following directories have been removed from our index of directories:

  • Yahoo! (dir.yahoo.com): After fifteen years, Yahoo shut its web directory down, replacing it with a business directory on a different subdomain. It was removed from our index on April 10, 2015.
  • UnaDir (unadir.com): I am unable to connect to this directory, so I removed it from our index on April 10, 2015.
  • Blog Hints (bloghints.com): This directory was not responsive when I checked it on April 9, 2015, so it was removed from our index at that time.
  • Rave the Web (ravetheweb.com): Rave the Web has been down for the past couple of days, so it was removed from our index on April 9, 2015. Hopefully, it will be back up as it was one of the better directories.
  • Franchise Biz Directory (franchisebizdirectory.com): Although this directory is still up, its content has been changed completely, and it no longer appears to be a viable directory, so I have removed it from our index on April 9, 2015.
  • Wincy Spider Web Directory (wincyspider.com): This directory times out, so I have removed it from our index on April 9, 2015.
  • Dewey Browse (deweybrowse.org): As I am unable to connect to this directory, I have removed it from our index on April 9, 2015. It returns a server not found error.
  • The Travel Links Directory (thetravellinks.com): This domain returns a 403 error, so it was removed from our index on April 9, 2015.
  • CompDirectory (compdirectory.com): This directory returns a 404 error when I try to connect to it, so it was removed from our index on April 9, 2015.
  • Israel Science and Technology Directory (science.co.il): This directory times out when I try to connect to it, so it was removed from the index on April 9, 2015.
  • VR Directory (vrdir.com): I get a server not found error when trying to connect to this directory, so it was removed on April 9, 2015.
  • Get Blogs (getblogs.com/directory): This directory is returning a 500 server error, so it was removed on April 9, 2015.
  • Technorati Blog Directory (technorati.com/blogs/directory): The domain is still online but they seem to no longer have a directory. This listing was removed on April 9, 2015.
  • iNET (einet.net): This directory now redirects to galaxy.com, a directory that has its own listing, so this one was removed on April 9, 2015.
  • EU Site (euseosite.com): This domain is parked, so it was removed from our index on April 9, 2015.
  • EuroWeb Traffic (eurowebtraffic.com): Returning a server not found error on April 9, 2015, so it was removed from our index.
  • Midwest Mudlarks (geraldtonbusinessdirectory.com): A server with the specified hostname could not be found. Removed on April 9, 2015.
  • Big Directory (bigdirectory.ie): Includes only an under construction notice. Removed from our listings on April 9, 2015, and I’ll check back with it in a week or so and re-add it if it is back up.
  • British Shopping (british-shopping.com): Contains only a notice saying “we’ll be back soon.” Removed from our index on April 9, 2015. I’ll check back with it in a week or so, and reinstate it if it is back up.
  • Directory Tribe (directorytribe.com): A server with the specified hostname could not be found. Removed from our index on April 9, 2015.
  • Directory Times (directorytimes.com): Server not found. Removed from our index on April 9, 2015. That’s too bad because this one was shaping up to be a fine directory.
  • Kahuki (kahuki.com): The domain does not resolve, as it is returning a soft 404. Removed from our index on April 9, 2015.
  • The Flying Pages (theflyingpages.com): Returning a 403 error. Removed from our index on April 9, 2015.
  • Jayde (jayde.com): This long-time directory is timing out, so I have removed it from our index on April 9, 2015. I’ll check back with it in a few days to see if it’s back online.
  • Infomine (infomine.ucr.edu): Infomine has closed after twenty years of service. R.I.P. Removed from our index on April 9, 2015.
  • Christian Sites (christian-websites.org): The site is still there but the directory seems to be gone. Removed from our index on April 9, 2015.
  • Umdum Directory (umdum.com): The Umdum Directory appears to be down, and that’s too bad; it was a nice little directory. Removed from our index on April 9, 2015.
  • Web Directory China (webdirectorychina.com): No longer a web directory. Removed from our index on April 9, 2015.
  • Online Web Directory (onlinewebdirectory.org): The URL no longer resolves to a web directory, but rather to a host index. Removed on April 9, 2015.
  • Web World (webworldindex.com): I am unable to connect to this directory, so it was removed on April 9, 2015.
  • Ambra Directory (ambradirectory.com): I tried to submit a site to the Ambra Directory and received an error. I tried to contact them about it, using the directory’s contact form, but received another error, so I have removed the directory from our index on February 10, 2015. I hope it is noticed and corrected, because I liked the Ambra Directory.
  • Montreal Web Directory (gmawebdirectory.com): Finding that the domain is unresponsive, it was removed from our index on February 8, 2015.
  • Directory Haze (directoryhaze.com): On reviewing listings, I found that the Directory Haze site has only an “under construction” tag, so it was removed from our index on February 6, 2015.
  • ITS Directory (itsdirectory.com): Noting that the ITS Directory is parked, I removed it from our index on January 29, 2015.
  • Forum Finder (theforumfinder.org): During a spot-check of some of our listings, I discovered that submissions are closed to new listings at Forum Finder, and that its Thumbshots images are broken, so I removed it from our index on January 19, 2015.
  • Forum URL (forumurl.com): This directory’s domain is now parked, and has therefore been removed from our index on January 19, 2015.
  • Kidzui (kidzui.com): The domain is now hosting a Power Rangers site, no longer serving the purpose that it once did, so I have removed it from our index on December 21, 2014.
  • A1 Web Directory (a1webdirectory.org): The directory’s main page works but all of its internal pages are returning 404 errors. I tried to contact directory staff, but its contact page is a 404 page too. I have removed it from our index on December 21, 2014. On January 19, 2015, I found that the A1 Web Directory was working again, so it has been restored to our index.
  • Local Agent List (localagentlist.org): Upon my review of listings on December 21, 2014, I found that this domain returned a 404 error. Subsequently, it was removed from the index.
  • My Green Directory (mygreendirectory.info): This directory is returning a 404 error, so I have removed it from the index on November 28, 2014. On January 19, 2015, I found that My Green Directory was back online, so I restored it to our index.
  • TBCL (tbcl.com): During a spot check, this directory was found to be down. It was removed from the index on November 24, 2014.
  • SMSWeb (smsweb.org): I am seeing several lines of PHP errors before the main menu of SMSWeb today. I tried to contact them through their contact form, but that wasn’t working either. I removed the directory on October 27, 2014, and will check back in a day or two to see if it’s back up. On November 18, I noticed that SMSWeb was again error-free, so I restored it to our index.
  • Wikidweb (wikidweb.com): I was unable to connect to Wikidweb today, as it is timing out, and it had  been flagged as being unresponsive on another occasion. I have removed it on October 26, 2014, but will happily reinstate it if it again becomes responsive. It was back online on November 8, 2014, so it was restored to the index.
  • Best SEO Friendly Directory (bestdirectorysites.com): During a maintenance check, I found that this domain now redirects to the es-solution.com domain, which is not a web directory. Removed on October 24, 2014.
  • Authority Directory (authoritydirectory.com): During my regular maintenance of the directory, I found that the Authority Directory was down. It is displaying the following error: 1062: Duplicate entry ’7188095’ for key ‘PRIMARY’ Fatal database error. Removed on October 24, 2014.
  • Ablaze Directory (ablazedirectory.com): The Ablaze Directory has been down for nearly two weeks now. I removed it from the index on October 24, 2014.
  • Vision Web Directory (visionwebdirectory.com): It has been determined that, in our view, Vision Web Directory is not a reputable directory. Removed from our index on October 11, 2014. On November 8, 2014, I decided to restore it to the index, but with a warning to potential submitters.
  • iGuides (iguides.org): The directory is down. Removed from index on October 10, 2014. Found it to be back online on November 8, 2014, so it was restored to the index.
  • EZWeb-Tools Open Directory (directory.ezweb-tools.com): The link now redirects to es-solution.com, which seems to be an SEO-type blog or something of the sort. Removed on September 6, 2014.
  • PowerSeek (powerseek.net): After fourteen years, PowerSeek has gone out of business. Removed on September 3, 2014.
  • Free PHPLD Templates (phpld-templates.com): I am getting a 403 error response from this site, so I removed it on July 31, 2014.
  • Premium Australian Web Directory (australiandirectory.net.au): I am unable to connect to this directory. It is returning the following error prompt: “A server with the specified hostname could not be found.” I removed it on July 31, 2014.
  • South Africa Business Directory (southafricabusinessdirectory.co.za): I am unable to connect to this directory; it is returning a 503 service error. It was removed on July 31, 2014. On September 9, 2014, I can see that the site is back up but nothing appears to be clickable.
  • Internet-Web Directory (internet-web-directory.com): When I scanned the directory of directories a week or so ago, I found that this directory was displaying a “down for maintenance” notice. However, that notice still remains, so I have removed it on July 31, 2014. If it comes back up again, I will reinstate it.
  • Web World (webworldindex.com): I hope that Web World Index isn’t down for good, since it’s a good directory, but it is timing out for me. I have removed it on July 31, 2014, and will reinstate it if and when it comes back up again. I see that Web World is back online, so I welcomed them back into our listings on September 9, 2014.
  • Viral Directory (viraldirectory.com): I am unable to connect to Viral Directory; it is returning the following error: “A server with the specified hostname could not be found.” I have removed it on July 31, 2014.
  • Web Directories List (webdirectorieslist.com): I am unable to connect to this directory, as it is timing out. I have removed it on July 31, 2014.
  • Trincas Web Directory (trincas.org): This directory displays a notice: “Trincas Directory Coming Soon…” notice, so I have removed it on July 31, 2014. If it comes back up, I will reinstate it then.
  • Site Sift (site-sift.com): I added this site yesterday, July 7, 2014, although I had some concerns over the fact that it carried a copyright end date of 2013, rather than 2014. I was going to contact them to ascertain whether the directory was still active today, but I find that I cannot connect to it, so I am removing it on July 8, 2014.
  • Accountants Directory (accountants-directory.com): Attempts to connect to this directory result in an internal server error. I have removed it on July 6, 2014.
  • Canada Space (webdirectory.canadaspace.com) Attempts to connect to this directory result in timeouts. I have removed it from the index on July 6, 2014. Today, July 7, I found the main domain to be accessible but still the directory was not.
  • Ez Find Web Design Directory (ezfindwebdesign.com): Attempts to connect to this directory result in timeouts. I have removed the directory from the index on July 6, 2014. On July 31, I found that the site was back up but since it is carrying a copyright of 2004-2009, I have decided not to restore it.
  • Directory Seo Supreme (directory.seo-supreme.com): I am getting timeouts from this directory as well, including its main domain. It was removed on July 6, 2014.
  • Directory Websites (directorywebbsites.com): Attempts to connect to this directory result in timeouts, so I have removed it on July 6, 2014. On July 31, 2014, I found that it was again working so I have restored it.
  • Web Design Firms (web-design-firms.net): During two consecutive checks, this directory’s domain did not resolve, so I removed it on July 1, 2014.
  • Discuss Directory (discussdirectory.com): The domain is now parked. I removed it from our database on June 21, 2014.
  • Zyas (zyas.com): During a routine review of our listings, I found that the Zyas domain has been suspended, so I removed it on June 18, 2014.
  • uiCandy Web Link Directory (uicandy.net): During a routine review of listed sites, I found that this one is parked. Removed on June 18, 2014.
  • Telia Directory (teliadirectory.com): During a routine review of listed sites, I found that Telia Directory shows as suspended page, so I removed it on June 18, 2014.
  • SEO King (theseoking.com): During routine checks of my directory of directories, I found that this one is down, and parked. Removed on June 18, 2014. On July 6, 2014, I found that this directory was again working, so I reinstated it.
  • Beacon Directory (beacon-directory.com): When I tried to access the directory, for a spot check, it redirected my browser to a quick succession of at least three other domains, ending on a Facebook page. Looking further, I see that Yandex has banned the domain for malware. Not wanting to steer my users wrong, I removed it on June 18, 2014.
  • Little Web Directory (littlewebdirectory.com): The domain is parked. It had a Moz Domain Authority of 70, too. Removed on 05/23/2014.
  • Diroo (diroo.org): The domain is parked. Removed on 05/23/2014.
  • Scrabblestop Link Directory (links.scrabblestop.com): The domain is working, but is returning errors. Removed on 05/23/2014. On September 9, 2014, I found that the directory was again working so I have re-added it to our listings. On April 9, 2015, it returns a server not found error, and has been removed again.
  • Link Cruncher (linkcruncher.com): The domain is returning errors. Removed on 05/23/2014.
  • Zorg Directory (zorg-directory.com): The directory is returning errors. Removed on 05/23/2014. On September 9, 2014, I found that this directory was back up so I re-added it to our listings.
  • Finding Our Way (findingourway.net): Due to questionable acceptance policies, I have removed this directory from our listings. Removed on 04/27/2014.
  • Triple W Directory (triplewdirectory.com): On two occasions, I attempted to submit a site to this directory. It does not recognize a reciprocal link when a valid link is entered into the form, and if I try the free (no reciprocal link) option, it is impossible to get past the CAPTCHA test. Removed on 04/18/2014.
  • eBjuris Web Directory (ebjuris.com): The domain’s server is displaying the message: “This Account Has Been Suspended.” Removed on 03/25/2014.
  • Your Index (2yi.net): Receiving errors when trying to access this directory. Removed on 03/25/2014.
  • CXDS Link Directory (cxdsgroup.com): When trying to reach the directory, I am getting: Error. Page cannot be displayed. Please contact your service provider for more details. Removed on 03/25/2014.
  • Directory Sector (directorysector.com): When trying to reach the directory, I am getting: Error. Page cannot be displayed. Please contact your service provider for more details. Removed on 03/25/2014.
  • Archivd Web Directory (archivd.com): This directory hasn’t been available for the past few days, returning ERROR :: Could not connect to database server! Removed on 03/18/2014.
  • Retro Link Directory (retrolinkdirectory.com): Over the past week, this directory has been unresponsive, returning ERROR :: Could not connect to database server! Removed on 03/18/2014.
  • Searchinq (uncoverthenet.com): This directory has been unresponsive during the last three consecutive checks. Removed on 03/13/2014.
  • Elegant Directory (elegantdirectory.com): During the last two checks, I have been unable to connect to the server for this directory. Removed on 03/13/2014. Note: This directory was working again on 03/25/2014, and has been restored to our listings.
  • Abstract Directory (abstractdirectory.org): This directory has timed out over the past few days, every time that I checked it. Removed on 03/13/2014. Seeing that the Abstract Directory is back online, I have restored it on 04/29/2014.
  • Post Dot Com Web Directory (postdotcom.com): On three consecutive integrity checks, this URL has returned a 500 error. Removed on 03/12/2014.
  • dBest Directory (dbestdir.com): On two consecutive integrity checks, this URL has returned a 404 error. Removed on 03/12/2014.
  • Arfoo (script.arfoo.net): The URL has returned a 404 error on two consecutive checks. Removed on 03/12/2014.
  • eWebPages Web Directory (ewebpages.org): The URL returns a 403 error, in two consecutive checks. Removed on 03/12/2014. I found this directory working again, and restored it to our listings on 04/29/2014.
  • IndexSeek Web Directory (indexseek.com): The URL results in a 404 error, in two consecutive checks. Removed on 03/12/2014.
  • Directory Net (directory-net.com): The URL now leads to a parked page. Removed on 03/11/2014.
  • Qubic International (qubicinternational.com): This directory displays a parked page, the domain having expired on 12/15/2013. Removed on 01/26/2014.
  • Free Link Directory (mallpen.com): This directory returns the error: A server with the specified hostname could not be found. Removed on 01/22/2014.
  • Swift Directory (dirswift.com): When I first reviewed this directory for inclusion, it was allowing free submissions, as well as single-digit fees for its paid options. The prices have been increased to $35 for a regular link and $75 for a featured link, which is their prerogative, and fine with me; however, in the process, they removed links that had earlier been accepted, for free or at a much lower cost, for what was supposed to have been a permanent linking, which does not seem ethical. Having removed earlier content, the directory is left without sufficient content to be useful, anyhow. Removed on 01/21/2014.
  • California Directory (californiawebdirectory.org): On two consecutive checks, this directory has returned the following error: A server with the specified hostname could not be found. Removed on 01/21/2014.
  • Health Web Directory (health-web-directory.com): This directory returned a 500 internal server error on two consecutive checks. Removed on 01/21/2014.
  • Happal Web Directory (happal.com): I added the directory with the hopes that there would be content added to it, but there is still very little there. Nearly every category is empty. Removed on 01/20/2014.
  • Anthony Parsons (anthonyparsons.com): As one of the older, more reputable directories, Anthony Parsons bought the SEO mantra about directories being dead and switched to a non-directory directory model some time back, but it doesn’t seem to have worked out for him. There is nothing there but a placeholder right now. It’s too bad, because it was a fine directory before he abandoned it. Removed on 01/19/2014.
  • LinksLive (linkslive.info): This directory’s policies were changed to require a reciprocal link on the index page as its only listing option, which limits its usefulness to practically nothing. Also, the directory includes no means of contact. Removed on 01/16/2014.
  • Big Boards (directory.big-boards.com): This directory has repeatedly timed out during our integrity checks. Although it again becomes responsive, it is unavailable more often than it is available. Removed on 01/08/2014.
  • Online Web Forums Directory (forumsdirectory.info): This directory returned a 404 error on two consecutive integrity checks. Removed on 01/08/2014.
  • Canadian Web Directory (canadian-web-directory.com): This directory returned a 404 error on two consecutive integrity checks. Removed on 01/08/2014.
  • CanLinks (canlinks.ca): This directory returned a 403 error on two consecutive integrity checks. Removed on 01/08/2014.
  • Local New Mexico (localnewmexico.com): This directory returned a 404 error on two consecutive integrity checks. Removed on 01/08/2014.
  • LocalHoma (localhoma.net): This directory returned a 500 error on two consecutive integrity checks. Removed on 01/08/2014.